Language / Idioma


About Asturias
Ocultar índice

Asturias is located in the central area of the Spanish coast of the Cantabrico Sea. The total area of Asturias is 10,603.57 square Km. It is bounded by the Cantabrico Sea on the north and shares land borders with the Comunidad Autónoma de Galicia (to the west), the Comunidad Autónoma de Cantabria (to the east) and the Comunidad Autónoma de Castilla y León (to the south).

Oviedo is the capital city. The main towns are located in the central part of the Principality of Asturias, from the coast to the inland, and in the mining valleys. Gijón is the highest populated town with 277,198 inhabitants, followed by Oviedo, the capital city, with 225,155 inhabitants and then by Aviles with 84,202 inhabitants. Aviles covers a metropolitan area of 130,000 inhabitants and is the head of the council with around 200,000 people. Some other councils have around 50,000 inhabitants such as Siero (51,730 people), Langreo (45,397 people) and Mieres (43,688 people). The total amount of population is 1,084,341 people according to data of the National Statistics Institute (INE) in 2010.

More info about Asturias

Information about Asturias in 'Tourism in Spain' website

InfoAsturias Official tourism website of Asturias


Acerca de la Escuela de Arte | Mapa del sitio | Contactar | RSS

© 2023 Escuela de Arte de Oviedo - Julián Clavería 12 - 33006 Oviedo Asturias España